Uncategorized

Sweet Smell of Success…

TODAY’S BUZZ TIP | March 25, 2009

Well, I must say I can breathe a sigh of relief today as my Press Day yesterday went very well for a few reasons.  Grab your pencils!

They actually came. Media folk are notorious for cancelling or just not showing up to events.  That’s why it’s so important to confirm the day before or morning of an event to gently remind them.  That’s what we did and the result was that most of them actually showed up.

They were enlightened. It always amazes me that no matter how many emails I send with information, press releases, pitches, etc. there are always a number of editors that still don’t get it.  There were quite a few of them that came yesterday and were pleasantly surprised by the breadth of the collections and how amazing the footwear was….duh!  That’s what I’ve been trying to tell you!!!  So, proving my point once again that having editors actually see the product is hugely important.  The sad fact is that they have very little time to read the mountain of emails and correspondence that they receive so “getting in their face” is the most effective strategy of all.

They were wonderful. Editors may seem cold at times and indifferent to your eager advances.  When you meet them in person though, they are quite lovely.  Everyone was so, how should I put this, nice.  Even though they had already been to a dozen appts. they walked in with a smile and very interested in seeing the products.  They chatted, they talked about stories they were working on and even pulled shoes for future shoots.  And even one reporter, from WSJ.com, came up with an angle for a story, featuring our products, right then and there.  I immediately pulled the client into an interview and voila a placement was born.

So I challenge you to arrange your own little event and tell me about it.  Next month I will be debuting the new “Buzz Spotlight” where I will feature one company that has successfully implemented a Buzz tip.

Leave a Reply

