Uncategorized

Social Media Campaigns

I tell you, I have been doing PR for over 20 years and I can honestly say, I’m tired!!  I’m not complaining.  I’m basically find doing PR today much more challenging then it used to be.  For one, there are fewer magazines to pitch to and those that have survived don’t have the impact that they used to have.  News sources have changed dramatically, with most people prefering to get their news from either TV or the internet. And then there’s social media where most people spend their time.  This is really the nexus of the “new PR.”  Soon PR will be renamed, Social Media Relations because that will be the only place where we will get our news.

But how do you implement a successful social media campaign?  Well, this is one area where I am trying to learn just as much as everyone else.  I’m doing as much research as possible and using social media constantly so I can bring ideas to my clients.  The first step is to look at how the big companies are using social media.  Check out this link to see how Target, Dell, Dunkin Donuts and other major companies are successfully using social media to brand and sell products.  It’s a great start.

www.blog.thoughtpick.com


Today’s Buzz Tip comes from Marina Echavarria, founder and creator of Build-A-Buzz and owner of Realm Media Productions, Inc., a full service public relations firm in the New York area.  Catch up on all the Buzz at http://www.buildabuzz.wordpress.com <http://www.buildabuzz.wordpress.com> .

Leave a Reply

